Anyone running CNC pcb prototyping?

Aurbo99

Super Moderator
Staff member
Just curious is any of the forum members is running a CNC and doing personal pcb milling/prototyping?

CNC PCB milling is why I originally purchased Eagle.

I think it's fine if you stay with thru-hole design.

I've moved on to SMD and 4 layer boards -- so my mill is collecting dust.

Joe

I have thought of it.
The track spacing may be an issue with pcb milling. I'm still working through my Mach 4 & Ethernet Smooth Stepper setup.
Then I will need to test it on some board that I haven't created yet.
I'm still learning the ropes regarding CNC with my build. Low priority right now.
Choosing CAD software is another unresolved issue slowing me down.
Too many hobbies, .... :)

I plan to try a different direction with CNC PCB production and go for a hybrid solution.

I have years of experience doing prototype PCBs using hand layouts and photographic techniques (drafting tape masters > Kodak ortho film > UV sensitive photo resist > ferric chloride etch). However, these days I have a CNC laser engraver in the house (a serious brand name machine I use for commercial work and not a cheap Chinese model) but I figure I can use the laser to selectively remove an applied acid resistant coating from the copper surface of a bare PCB and then do traditional etching of the laser prepared board (probably try the cleaner copper chloride in aqueous hydrochloric acid etch mix instead of the ferric chloride mix I used for years).

I have a Zen CNC, but it's a toy.

It takes days to weeks of efforts to properly mill a double-sided 4"x6" board with through-holes and everything - you can literally order a prototype board faster online.