Light-o-Rama

Welcome to DIY,
Sorry LOR products onlt work with LOR software. :)
If you chose to invest that kind of money in controllers you would be better off to buy there software.There tech support is great too...

not only that but they have the worlds best lighting software developer working for them, NOW !

RJ said:
not only that but they have the worlds best lighting software developer working for them, NOW !
Check's in the mail, bro!

Yeah, any LOR hardware requires LOR software, plain and simple. For the foreseeable future, at least.

Thanks.

Anyway, how hard is it to build your own? I have no electrical knowledge, however I'm very good with the computer, my dad is very good with electrical things. Also, on average how much is it to built a 16 channel controller? Thanks.

christmaslover012 said:
What if I build the controller myself from their DIY kits? Do I still have to use their software?

In a word, Yes. They have a lock on the comunication to their PIC. Another company, D-Light has figured out the protocol and LOR can control D-Light's boards too.

I've discussed the public release of the protocol face to face with the owner of LOR on two occasions, and often through email/PM. But it seems he is happy to limit those who buy his hardware to one software package.

While Vixen is light years ahead of LOR in functionality (I have experience with both...) KC is on-board with the development of LOR II, and I for one cannot wait for it's release. Since I knew nothing about this DIY community until after I had already assembled 144 channels of LOR, that's where I'll keep my control... hoping and praying KC and I can eventually wear 'em down for a public release....
Jeff