New ESP32 based WS2811/WS2812 controller anyone?

pascoea

Hey there forum!

I've been working for a couple years on a new ESP based WS281x controller board. I'm on the 3rd-ish revision, and feel like it's ready to get a few boards out into the community and get feedback. When I started this project, the goal was to have a complete sub-$100 controller that can run 10 strands. Currently well under that goal. My display is based around the 12v WS2811 and WS2813, so that's what the controller is geared towards.

The hardware itself is intended to be a low-cost, maker/hobby type board. There are 11 outputs. Built-in 10/100 ethernet (LAN8720) and the ESP's WiFi. The nice thing about the 8720 is it utilizes the ESP's onboard MAC, so all of the async stuff still works. It supports on-board display and input, also configurable/manageable via a web portal. There are a couple of extra low-speed low-current GPIO available for, well, general purposes.

The software is loosely based around the ESPixelStick Firmware but has been modified to work with fastLED library (amongst others). It will be open-sourced once it's beta-level.

The brains of the device is either an ESP32 Dev Module or an ESP32-wroom (or pin-compatible) module.

As I mentioned above, I'd love to get a few of them out there and get some feedback. Let me know if you're interested!

Attached is a KiCAD render.

Attachments

• esp32-wslan8720-main.jpg
    esp32-wslan8720-main.jpg
    83 KB · Views: 84
Last edited:
Why does it have to be married to 12v/5v at all? Some of the latest controllers in the pipe simply send data and V- for each channel. You should be able to power the ESP via USB and that's it.

Interesting!

When you mention 10 strands, how many pixels per strand? What refresh rates would this support?

I ended up getting 11 channels out of it. My longest single string is 300px (power injection obviously needed), but I mostly use it it drive multiple shorter strings of 50-100.