New Guy question about light prices

stephenwolf

Hi every one, I have question about prices: I am new to all this and want to do a setup for next year. I know the best time to buy lights is right after Christmas, or so I have heard, but I am wondering what the experience has been.

What have you guys found to be the best time and place to buy lights and what is the price point you usually aim for?

I ask because I have been seeing some (what I think) good deals on mini lights lately but I don't know what the standard price will be after Christmas, so I am not sure whether to start stocking up now or wait it out a couple of weeks.

Thanks

jmelvin said:
Last year I bought 100ct mini's for .25 a box at walmart.

I've got them 2 years in a row at that price. I waited till about the 2nd week in Jan. before I bought them, but I started watching the prices / quantity right after christmas and bought just before they packed up the unsold lights.

Last year there was not much laft after Christmas. Most reported nothing more than clear minis left over. The retailers must not have ordered as much as in years past. I was able to get my hands on 100 boxes of 100ct clear minis last year, thats it. Nothing else was available. Some lucked out but not me. I paid .50 per box.

For regular minis i would buy them right after christmas but if you are going to buy LED's then i would wait because the technology is still getting better.

I bought a whole bunch of white and gold minis cheap. Only use 8 of them so far this. I bought a ton of new ones after Halloween. I needed colors though so ended up with buying more because I couldn't find what I needed last year.

AT this point I am up to 23,000 minis. Some from last year, but lots new this year. Also I have extra for when I want to play with stuff during the off season.

ms