New here, playing around with PVC and LEDs

2k05gt

I have been toying with the Idea of putting LED Strips inside PVC Pipe, I had some sticks lying around from a previous project

I need honest opinions on my tests with Clear PVC, I want to outline the Top Bar of my Gazebo 8'x12' so the LEDs will be shining up
The strip shown in the Video will be under the Bar Top.

This strip is in 1/2 inch Clear PVC Pipe.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iCS__tXnUL8

This one I used 200 Grit Sandpaper to defuse it, clear LED's on strips are annoying sometimes
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gxwY4yYzFuI

I am new to this as well. My opinion is that you shouldn't use clear PVC as then you see each individual LED. Use white PVC instead. Sharkbite is very popular. I just bought one last weekend and still have to try it out. Just looking at it, it seems a bit less opaque than the Apollo. I also bought some from McMaster which I almost like the most but it's not the cheapest option, especially after adding shipping (unless you are in Southern CA). Also the thicker the pipe is the more diffusion you get. I have some 2" pipes and 3/4" pipes and it makes a significant difference (it also looks much larger, obviously). The only reason why I probably won't use 2" pipes for arches is because they take up too much storage. For a Gazebo 3/4" to 1" is probably ideal.

I tried that, but it tends to diminish the brightness, because of where they will be, I am not as concerned with seeing the LED than I am with the hot spots they create on the ceiling
of the gazebo. for the Bar, the spot look shining down on the front of the bar is not a big deal.

I want a bright glow on the ceiling but was wondering if there are alternatives.
My son make these really cool, high quality Light Sabers and he uses a clear halogen cellophane and you cant se the LEDs but the glow is really nice. I may try that inside of the clear PVC