Newbie advice

momentous

Hi there,

I don't know whether I am posting in the right place, but here goes.
This is my first year building a Christmas light project.
I am running FPP on a Raspberry Pi and would like to connect two 5m WS2812b LED Strips to it.
Each strip has 300 pixels on it and each metre requires 18 watts, so the 300 pixels need 90 watts in total, I think anyway.

My questions are:

- What power supply would you recommend?
- How would I wire my power supply with the two strips and Pi?
- Would I have to split power along the strips due to the voltage drop on 5v?

Thanks,
M

The Vdd pin to the strip needs 5v. We can fly you some links to some power supplies (Meanwells seem to be the most popular for outdoors), but ultimately, as long as you get it 5v plus-or-minus 0.3v, you're covered. Your USB charger on your cell phone is 5v, and you already have that. For your data pin, the 3.3v coming straight from the Pi will suffice (for now).

I believe for 5V, 300 pixels, 5 meters strips, you need to connect your 5v to Vdd and the ground to ground on both ends of the led strip i.e. both beginning and the end. You might get away with just connecting the beginning, but you also might not, and you really don't want to debug that right now. Of course, if you did use your cell phone charger, that only supplies 2.1A, and your strip is 18w. One charger can only power one strip.

Don't connect the 5v pin on the Pi to the led strip. Data pin comes from the Pi. Vdd comes directly from the power supply. Ground comes from both the Pi AND the power supply. Don't sweat connecting ground from the Pi on both ends. Beginning only for that will suffice.

I'm sure others here will typo-check this, to make sure I typed it right.