Simple code for Arduino Uno/Mega. Up to 48 realy/SSR channels, with Random mode

We shall have our Christmas Extravaganza!!!!

2 incorrectly shipped relays later, we now have a matching set of High Level Trigger relays installed and working. Our many challenges included my ignorance and inventory but we have overcome using this community, Victor's original Code found on pg 1, and a whole lot of cheer.

Merry Christmas everyone and thank you to all.

*It turns out, the chaos I was experiencing earlier with the High I had installed, it was my own mistake from plugging lights into assigned outlets incorrectly. DOH!!*

Hi,

I am a newbie with a similar setup with Arduino and 4 Sainsmart High Trigger SSR and the Victors sketch on first page . I have 3 blocks of 16 switches (2 SSR) connected back to Arduino via CAT6 cables. I am driving each block with its on power (AC and DC) and did not ground the SSR to Arduino board. I have not had any issues with any of the sequences I play. Am I missing out on something or potentially risking something? If I power all the SSR from Arduino board would it risk the Arduino board drawing too much current? Just got my first show of the ground this year after 2 years of lurking and trying to learn. Thanks

I'm not asking for anybody to fix this, but could you possibly help me out with the direction to go? I've tried if/else and while, but I can't figure it out.

Re: Easy to use code for Arduino Uno/Mega. Up to 48 channels, with Random mode

I went ahead and wrote a sketch with pieces of code from Zparticle and Si_champion/Neil Tapp.
It should work fine for up to 18 channels in Arduino Uno, and up to 48 in Arduino Mega (could be coded for more, but I don't know if anyone needs more than that).

There are a few #define lines on top to set the serial speed, the number of channels to use, and whether the relays activate with a high or low signal:
-Set the number of channels that you will use with the line #define CHANNEL_COUNT 16