SSR Connection Question

PaneraSlave

Excuse me for being a total noob, how do you connect the SSRneon to your computer? What software is needed to operate? Vixen?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - now Free

Excuse me for being a total noob, how do you connect the SSRneon to your computer? What software is needed to operate? Vixen?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - now Free

The SSRneon does not connect to your PC, it is normally connected to an SSR controller like the Ren64XC or RenardPlus, etc. Those controllers have an RJ45 connector that goes directly the SSRneon (or most any DIY SSR here) and controls the 4 TRIACs on them. They just require a 5v signal to enable the outputs so you could use other methods (like an Arduino, etc) to run them as well if you wanted to.

So the controller connects to the computer using a standard RS-232 serial cable and connects to the SSRs using a standard RS-485 Ethernet cable? Vixen can be used with this correct?

So the controller connects to the computer using a standard RS-232 serial cable and connects to the SSRs using a standard RS-485 Ethernet cable? Vixen can be used with this correct?

Mostly correct - you can use RS-232, RS-485 or DMX (also RS-485) from you PC to the controller(s) using the appropriate adapter/dongle - RS-232 will work fine. Depending on the controller you can use Cat5 cabling with the appropriate wiring layout or an RS-232 DE-9 cable (if it has it). From the controller there are usually multiple RJ45 connectors out to the SSRs. For example the Ren64 can drive up to 16 SSRs (16x4 = 64 channels). Vixen supports all of these serial/DMX interfaces - again with conjunction with the dongle/adapter.

edit - - here is the link to the Wiki page for the Ren64 - http://doityourselfchristmas.com/wiki/index.php?title=Renard_64XC

note that the RenSS and other controllers have the SSRs on the boards themselves.

Last edited: