StarFlake Spinner - Easy, Inexpensive, Flexible

TomL8345

I just posted instructions in the Wiki under DIY Display Construction for what I am calling the StarFlake Spinner. This is a pixel based prop that can be used as a SnowFlake, Spinner, or 2 Six-Point Stars. By setting up Sub-Models in xLights it is easy to control each function, and even come up with some more. I am still new to xLights, and I am sure an experienced sequencer could really do some neat effects with this prop, my test video is below. Take a look at the Wiki and let me know what you think!

This project was the result of a thread early this year started by bcstuff on this forum. Here is the original thread, there are a lot of great ideas contained here.

I'm just starting to play with controlled lights. my espPixelsticks and pixels are on the way! I'm thinking of this being in my first display planned for next christmas. How do you sequence to form the shapes across multiple strings/channels...if that makes sense....I'm a newb. Sorry! How many channels was this, if I count right it was 252 pixels....

Hi!

You are correct there are 252 pixels in my design, but keep in mind one of the beauties of this design is that you can customize it to fit your requirements, it can easily be made larger or smaller for your needs. I had originally designed it for a 6' diameter, but found that was too large for my space when I did my mock up.