USB Relay With Vixen Question

jaydenmiller

Hello,

I am new to the Christmas light show world and this is my first year attempting one. I am looking to use Vixen to create it and use just USB relays to control light strands. Is it possible to use just a USB relay plugged into a PC to control the lights? Here's the relay board I have:https://www.amazon.com/SainSmart-Ei...prefix=8+channel+usb+relay+boar,aps,88&sr=8-3

I have a generic serial controller with 8 channels added with the port info of the relay board that shows up in device manager. I then have 8 single items that are each patched to a channel. I am using the set level effect in the sequencer but am having no luck with the relays coming on when using the scheduler. I tested the relay board out with the test program the MFG provides and they work properly. At this point, I'm not sure if I'm doing something wrong or if what I'm trying to do is not possible without some additional/different hardware.

Is there documentation on the serial interface with the board? Is the test program you refer to an exe or is it source code?

From what I read in the Amazon product comments, this board uses a single byte (8 bits) to control the 8 outputs. e.g. if you send B10010010 that would turn on relays 1, 4, 7 respectively. Vixen supports 1 byte per output channel always (for single colour node, 3 channels for RGB, 4 for RGBW), so this isn't going to work. A by-product is each output always supports intensity, through this has no use case with relays. Normally you would configure the associated hardware to switch on the relay at >50% (127) or at full 'on' so 255. There is no function in Vixen to use 1 byte across 8 discreet nodes in your sequence, supporting on/off only.