Was I ripped off?

TheSucker

I'm a novice when it comes to RBG lights. Last year I purchased a "out of the box" package from musiclightsaz. The guy had me submit a picture of my house with measurements of the areas where I wanted the lights and had me pick out 5 songs. Everything went well short of connecting my I-phone to the controller and I had a local professional Curt hang the lights for me. When Curt asked how much I paid he about fell over and said I got ripped off. I paid a little over 8000 for the package.

What I got:
20 (5meter every 3 lights are a channel) spools pre-cut RBG lights (pre-cut with connectors)
1000 mini-bulbs
pre-cut communication cables (from controller to RGBs)
LOR 16 channel
Some kind of Ethernet controller (for the RBG lights)
a small tower HP computer
A 4' by 4' 5 channel singing Santa Face
7 3' Christmas trees
5 pre-programmed shows
And it took Curt about 3 hours to install it all with a helper. He said the quality was OK and the instructions were "good enough." He also had to provide about $120 worth of extension cords which I did not anticipate.

Why I feel ripped off:
When I looked into it I could have bought all of this for under 4K.
When I called to check into returning the lights musiclightsaz said that they could only give me back a little over half of the money. They said they would give me a full refund on the materials, but couldn't give me back the money for time and labor because the system was customized to my home. When I visit the website they say they can teach you to program a song in less than 5 hours, but they claim that the setup alone took them more that 15 hours which made it possible to write each of the songs in the time they claim on their website. Also claimed my home was a specific challenge because of timing on some 45 degree cut-outs in my home.