different pixels not working together

nellyth1th

first of all first time poster long time looker lol

so I'm adding pixels to my house and i have a situation where i have old lights (ws2811 with red white blue wires) on the same data line with new ones ( ws2811 with red green and white wire) and the new will not work when down stream from the old ones? as soon as i put the new ones up stream from the old ones everything works fine and i cant tell the difference of color in the led. mind you I'm new at this and i bet you seasoned vets would be able to tell the difference, as for my armature "show" they will work fine.

I'm using a diquno for the controller for the window frames on my house and that's where i found this issue.

have any of you ran into this? if so what did you do to fix. or is ordering enough pixels to do you prop plus some is common practice for just this reason and my cheep newbie mind set needs to be flung out the window.

is there a fix for this?

what causes this? from my research in my fit of rage that i found is that there isn't strict standards for these lights and the boards and chips vary from manufacture to manufacture and that there are even different versions of ws2811 protocol. so much data out there just wanted to see if any of you have gone down this rabbit hole and had any Easter eggs to share.

thank you for your time.

R/

I suspect MikeKrebs has hit the nail on the head.
You can make sure that the order is as you found that works, or you can use separate outputs from the controller - if the controller can separate the output timing (several do).

Are the old ones really old (5ish years)? Then the timing is most likely off. Does the diquno have a setting for the timing? You might want to increase that number to around 280uS.