Downloading Pixel Radio Software to ESP32 - HELP!

TomL8345

I built my Pixel Radios some time ago, but I am having trouble understanding the steps to load the software onto the ESP32 properly. I have installed VS Code and added the PlatformIO to it. However, I am not understanding the steps to get the code from GitHub to my ESP32. I feel like I am a good technician, but a lot of coding is beyond my skill set. Can anyone post a set of steps to complete my project?

Let me know if you need any additional information from me.

Thanks in Advance,

You can PM me and I can walk you through the process.

• Download VS code and platformIO (I know you did this
  • Go to the repo on git (https://github.com/s00500/ESPUI) and click on the big green button marked "Code"
  • Select a download method. I suspect you do not have git installed on your computer so choose the "Download ZIP" option.
  • A file will get downloaded to your Downloads directory
  • Go to your "Documents" directory and create a "Projects" or "Arduino" or some other such named directory (A name that means something to you and is NOT PixelRadio).
  • Copy the downloaded file into this directory
  • Right click the file and select the unzip option
  • You should now have a PixelRadio directory next to the zip file. If you chose the wrong unzip option then you have a lot of files in the directory, but that is ok. That is why we unzipped in a special directory. :)
  • Open VScode (click the icon in your start menu or application list. I tend to add vscode to my start bar.
  • tell VS code you want to open a new "Folder" (Under the file menu). In VS Code a "Folder" is a project.
  • It should show a list of the files on the left side that should pretty much match the list in the unzipped directory.
  • You need to wait a few minutes for PlatformIO to download all of the libraries and the Arduino framework. There is a message on the info bar (bottom) that indicates "Loading Tasks". Wait for it to go away.