Flexible Cat5 cable or WIFI

AJVenti

I have been putting up a show for three years now using Cat5 cable. The cable gets hard to work with in the cold weather. I was hoping someone would
have a suggestion on a more flexible cable I could use in cold weather.
I was going to try changing over to WIFI (Have read Pro's and Con's) maybe using pixelsticks (Hard to fine) but I also have one controller that uses Ethernet Input for my mega tree and can't think of a way to convert to WIFI without buying a new controller.

Any suggestions would be appreciated

Thanks
Tony

I use a combination of hardwired and WiFi. The interesting thing is we are adding Ethernet support to the ESPv4 because WiFi can be problematic. What is it the concerns you with the CAT5 cable? Mine goes out before the cold and when I bring it in after the season I let it sit in the basement for a bit and then coil it. Be careful with the more flexible versions of CAT5. They tend to sacrifice shielding to get the extra flexibility. IMO, that is a bad tradeoff.

While the ESPv3 hardware is hard to find, there are ESP32 based platforms that the V4 software support. Add some buffering and you have a controller.

I use stranded copper Cat5 cable and never have a problem. I also use it for my Pixel wiring............