Grinch communication problems/questions.

mberghi

Hi all,
I'm a newbie to lighting control and I just finished building a Grinch and am having trouble getting it to work with vixen. Is there a way to easily check to see whether it is communicating with your PC and/or Vixen. I have it set for "Simple 595." Is there another plug in I should use instead?
Another question and I know this is in the wrong section but I just finished my first few SSRs and they are not working either, (LED is not lighting up and not sequencing lights) It is this design:
http://doityourselfchristmas.com/wiki/index.php?title=4_Channel_SSROZ_Assembly_Instructions
Any help would be greatly appreciated
Thanks,
Mike
P.S. oh and I am using a "5v DC 1.0 amp max" power supply and the LED lights up on the grinch board.

OK I changed the plug in from simple 595 to Olsen 595 and it was already set to EPP in the bios. Actually in the bios there were several choices with EPP. I will list the choices:
EPP1.9+SPP
EPP1.9+ECP
EPP1.7+SPP
EPP1.7+ECP
Printer
SPP
ECP
I believe mine is on the EPP1.7+ECP, but does that matter? Is there a way to put my multimeter on different parts of the board to see if it is getting a signal? or the RJ45 plug coming from the PC's parallel port?
Thanks,
Mike
P.S. oh and it is still not working

The first thing to check and double check, is the cable from the paralell port to the controller. This cable is real easy to get the pin connections in the wrong order. Make sure this cable is correct before any other trouble shooting is done. :wink:

Wayne is dead on check and double check the cable as this is most likely the problem and easy to get wrong.

I had the same problem come to find out it was my pins swapped, the pic of the lpt port I was using as a guide was reversed.

I should add, in that pic with the pin numbers. The pin 'GND' should have at least 3 of the wires from pins 18 - 25 of the paralell port connected to it, along with the power supply's ground wire.