How to make mini trees

Anarchtica - it would be really nice to create a wiki for this!

The chicken wire gives a very nice form - I've been doing it this way for 4/5 years now.

I created 6 tress this year using the cages. Each one as 4 colors on it, RED, BLUE, GREEN and WHITE. All outputs on the 4 channel SSR are hooked up to the tree. The small tree has 150 blub light stings x4 colors for 600 lights. The large tree has 300 blub light strings x4 colors for 1200 lights. The strings are hooked directly to the SSR and all soldered together end to end. The outlets and plugs were removed.

I hadn't considered using chicken wire. Good idea. To late for me now, the work is done. They came out nice however.

Thanks
ms

I wish I had wrapped my mini trees in separate colors to get that effect. But I kinda ran out of channels to facilitate that. 64 channels for my mega tree and 12 for my mini trees leaves me with 24 out of 100 to use.

p.s. Stempile, from that music, do you happen to listen to the 1 up show podcast?

The music is stock iLife '08 - iMovie. There are several different variations of that at different lengths. I have read stories on 1up but have not followed the podcasts.

ms

you know I might have to stop visiting this forum. My after christmas "need to buy list" is getting too long and my house is going to dim the lights in my neighboor hood :lol:

Deffinitally making some of these!

Ben

anyone know who carries yellow minilights?

i made one of these and my wife liked it, so i'm looking to make more. i'm going to try to bend a wire hanger in the shape of a star to put on top and am in need of yellow or gold lights to outline it with.

I use Floral easels from the hobby stores for my mini trees. They are powdered coated and cost around 2.50 each. They have lasted for 5 years without any problems.

I'm currently in the process of making a few more Mini trees using the Tomato Cage/Rings you can get from the hardware stores.