How to wire power for pixels

1amCDot

I apologize if this is in the wrong forum, please let me know and I will post it in the proper one. :)

I am very new and very green to this. I am looking to use 12V WS2811 pixels on my roofline. I am going to need about 1500 pixels to do my entire roofline, so I am going to use 15 100-pixel WS2811 strings with xConnect connectors.

I am not very good at power, so this is where I need a lot of help.

From looking at things, I am probably going to use two 12V 30A 360W power supplies to power my pixels. I am planning on injecting power every 100 pixels. I am also thinking about using a Kulp Light KP16A-B controller with a Beaglebone Black to run the controller, thus using FPP and either xLights or Vixen to program the pixels.

My questions are:
- Do I need to use power distribution boards, or should I just use the controller for the power to my power injectors?
- What is the best way and/or recommended way to power my pixels?
- From what I have read, I will also want to connect my ground between the power supplies. Is that correct?

TIA for all of the information and suggestions. :)

I'm not a power or pixel expert but for me, I would use distribution boards, I do fudge on that some. Yes you will connect the grounds together but not the hots. Last thing, 1500 pixels on those to PS are very close if you run at 100%, most people do not but figured I would throw it out there. I run all mine around 20% and that's plenty bright enough and I have ran over 1200 pixels on just one PS at this low setting.

Others will likely weigh in that have better experience and knowledge, I think I am in year 3 with pixels or maybe 4th in.

Have fun

You don't need to inject every 100 pixels. You can do every 200.

Can't say "You can do every 200" If I have 400 pixels and inject 0 and 200/201 then how is 301-400 powered

I guess it can be said "You can do every 200, if you inject the end too."