matrix panels

boarder3

Right now i use pixel strings to make a matrix its 24 x 39 its very big but i still dont like the outcome of it i want it to be more like a tv. Now i seen these https://www.sparkfun.com/products/12584
these seem to use Arduino which i know noting about and i would like to connect 9-12 of them together. any help would be great please explain it like im a child i know nothing about this im good with blinky been doing it for 7 years just clueless when it come to Arduino

I would also be interested in this. I do not know anything about arduino, but they seem like they would make for a cheaper matrix. I am new to blinky flashy, but it looks interesting.

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk

Looks like a great price ($40 for 1000 RGB LEDS??) but OMG! Only 7.5" square!
I am pretty sure like most great prices on RGB LEDs they are not waterproof or even water resistant.
I honestly do not think you need that type of density. I'm guessing that pixels every 1" is probably best.

I have seen a lot of arduino controlling video screens on youtube, but since I never graduated college, it was above me and I gave up.

Last edited:
Ray sells a lot of these types of products. I am using about 50 of them next year for 3 3x3 foot led displays. You will need to make a waterproof case and a frame for them to sit on.
The panels I am using-
http://www.aliexpress.com/store/pro...32-16pixels-320mm-160mm/701799_866772137.html
Other LED screen hardware-
http://www.aliexpress.com/store/gro...unit-board-control-card/701799_210028161.html
Thanks

I see that you can buy the controllers with the displays. Can you use Vixen/Xlights to drive them, or are you going to just trigger them to update off the SD card?

Ray sells a lot of these types of products. I am using about 50 of them next year for 3 3x3 foot led displays. You will need to make a waterproof case and a frame for them to sit on.
The panels I am using-