Pickit3 driving me nuts

woganaga

Hey Renard/PIC Experts -

I see posts on the microchip and other microcontroller forums, but no real solutions, wondering if anyone has any thoughts here...

I am running Windows 10. My PicKit3 successfully connects about 1 out of every 20 times.... I have made various registry changes to the USB Port for power management and tried installing the device while "requiring a device signature" is turned off. Tried using MPLAB 8 as well as the current verison of MPLAB X... Based on all my research it is either: I have a flakey Pickit3, or WIndows 10 and Pickit3 just don't play well together... I ended up buying a second pickit 3 (which is just returned) and it has the same issue.
I also tried unplugging ALL my USB devices (including the keyboard/mouse) and going in through remote desktop... same issue but it seems to work a little better....

This is my first time working with PIC, for some reason i had assumed flashing a PIC would be similar to the Arduino process i.e. with a simple FTDI USB->TTL converter...

My next course of action was to get one of these serial port programmers: https://www.olimex.com/Products/PIC/Programmers/PIC-PG2/ and use PICPgm on a raspberryPI - does anyone have any experience with this toolchain? Is there a way to my Arduino USB Flasher with PicPGM to flash the PIC chip? Do these tools install the bootloader as well or is only a Pickit capable of installing the bootloader?

Thank you!

Last edited:
I use PicKit3 programmers on Windows 7 and 10 all the time with no issues.

I wonder if the issue isn't Windows 10, but something to do with the USB port you're plugging into?

I use PicKit3 programmers on Windows 7 and 10 all the time with no issues.

I wonder if the issue isn't Windows 10, but something to do with the USB port you're plugging into?