Power Injection Question

rfreeland

Folks I am a newbie to this hobby this year. I have been watching for a couple of years and finally ready to start my own Christmas display endeavor. I am planning on going with just a single Mega Tree this year to start. I am planning on using a dig-quad controller with a Meanwell 350w power supply. My tree will be 180degree variety with 600 nodes over 12 strips. Basically a 8-9ft megatree. Question is if I power inject after each 100 nodes do I use the power outs from the dig-quad to do so or run power injection leads directly off of my power supply?

I think this comes down to fusing. I don't know much about the digi-quad but a quick glance suggests the outputs are fused at 5A each. All this is likely doing is taking the main 5V in, and providing onboard fuses for other connections (for convenience)
If you're pulling more power on an output then you will need to add a direct connection to the PSU with its own fuse. The board is probably not designed for more than 5A per connection. In theory you could run all power from the PSU (fused appropriately), and just data from the controller. What's important is the 0V is common to both.

If you have 5V strip I would recommend power injection every 50, not 100. Power injection simply means connecting the power at more than one location across the length of the string. For 12 strips of 50 I would connect power at both ends of the strip. For 12V less important. Would need more information about what you intend to connect.

Last edited:
You haven't told us if you are using 12V or 5V pixels but some important points are:
  • Make sure you are fusing each Power Injection Line - most of us use some type of power distribution board when powering direct from the power supply
  • Power runs both directions from a PI point - so with 12V if you apply power at pixel 1, then you do not have to PI again until pixel 200, and then every 200. If 5V, PI at pixel 100, and then every 100