Renard SS24 - Flashed chips not working

Hi! I think I may need a little help with my 2 Renard SS24 controllers I bought back in the first group buy. This is my first year doing Christmas lights, so I'm still learning all this stuff.

After I assembled my SS24s, I read that most of the chips arrived un-programmed, so I went ahead & bought an ICP03 pic programmer & followed Wayne's videos to flash the chips. I had never done any chip programming before, but it "seemed" to be pretty straightforward as long as I followed the videos.

I just recently got around to testing the Renards with an E1.31 bridge (DIYLED) & found that the 2 controllers "mostly" don't work. I say "mostly" because the first 8 channels work on the first controller, but the last 16 don't. However, there are 2 channels that stay ON: 9 and 17.

None of the channels on the 2nd controller work, but it's really weird because the same exact 2 channels (9 & 17) also stay ON! In addition, channel #1 stays on.

I flashed the chips a 2nd time but got the same results.

I have a 3rd WORKING SS24 controller that I bought from a DIYC member. I put one of my chips in that controller (U7; the middle slot) to see if my chip was bad. I expected the middle 8 channels not to work but the last 16 didn't work. Weird! I thought each chip controlled 8 channels, so why would swapping the U7 chip cause the last 16 channels to stop working? Do the chips work together?

So I'm wondering what I did wrong. I'm fairly sure that the 2 SS24 boards are OK, and I even reflowed many solder joints just to be sure, and checked for solder bridges, etc. Everything looks good. ...and the fact that a known good controller would NOT work with my chip indicates to me that my chips are bad.