Tips for dealing with inground sprinkler lines?

VitoHGrind

Last year, we moved into our new house that has an inground sprinkler system. It's my first time with this sort of system and by the time I was setting up my show for Christmas I wasn't thinking about the sprinkler lines as I drove MANY rebar pieces into the ground to secure various things. Turns out I punched two holes in different lines around the yard. Now coming up on July 4th, I'm curious how others deal with their inground sprinkler hoses. Do you have it all mapped out? If so, tips on doing this? Do you just avoid certain areas?

Did you not get copies of house manuals (heating, A/C, etc.) with the purchase of the house? Check to see if there's a layout map for the heads along with an operating guide for the sprinkler system. There's probably a service sticker or something on the main sprinkler control box and you could contact the service company (likely the same as the installers)... they likely have a layout map -- or they should -- in their file for your installation.

Dirk, I think you are giving todays landscaping/sprinkler installers WAY too much credit. I would be amazed if any of them had an accurate map of sprinkler line placement.... :biggrin2:

Maybe some sort of utility line diviner could locate them for a homeowner.

No, there wasn't anything passed along that indicated where exactly the lines or heads were. I did call the guys out to patch the holes I created, but they came while I was at work so I didn't get to ask if they knew how the lines were ran. I can call again though.
Quick google-fu yields either digging up parts of the yard or poking the ground with a rod and hoping not to create another puncture, neither of which sounds great. Was hoping others had experience.