USB SSR? would the cable matter how long from the Raspberry pi?? couple more ?s

Pcguy17

Okay i just replied one of the guys on youtube is using this SSR board https://www.amazon.com/SainSmart-Ei...0a-20&linkId=1eec23eb8e74cef314d69cbb7216da82
it is connected to the rasp pi with USB.... Im new to all of this but my thinking on this is that the SSB and output wires for your christmas lights could be all mounted in a separate box away from the Raspberry pi.. since connected to a USB to printer type looking cable..
I just wondering could it be say 10 foot long cord and still work fine?

Right now I have my rasp pi sitting on my desk, i plan to mount it some how in a encloser. im waiting for the SSR i ordered to get here to see how big it is for sure. I am guessing the GPIO wires can't be very long so the Pi and SSR would have to be in the same box.. the only distance anything could be away from other parts would be the plug in however there hooked to the SSR. Sorry i know pictures would help but not having the SSR yet its hard.

I am figuring this all out as i go. i know the guys using LOR controllers only have to run a Ethernet cable from the Pi/ Pi cap to control the controller i know this is the best set up but i cant afford a LOR controller right now.

Also, once i have my Sqences onto the Rasp Pi.. does the Ethernet from my home network have to be plugged into the rasp Pi? or can it be unplugged and taken anywhere i want to put it to plug up my lights? just trying to plan ahead cause if it has to be on the Ethernet connection all the time i have to buy another 100 foot Cat 5 line to go from my room to where i plan to set the unit.

btw this is the SSR i ordered... After seeing others online it seems there are many types of SSR most seem to just be one or two at most smaller block looking types. https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0057OC5WK/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

A high quality USB cable can go up to 20 feet.