ws2811 mounting

PastorAndrew

I am new to this and doing my first display this year. I have 32 5m strips of ws2811 ribbon pixels. I have a couple of questions.

1. I want them up year round and would like to do a semi permanent installation (could be taken down if needed but not frequently). Does anyone have any recommendations for this. I have seen the aluminum channel with the diffusers, but that is out of my price range.

2. Where should I mount them on the fascia facing out or on the soffit facing down ?

Thanks in advance for the help.

I would love to know also. I am doing the same thing and want to keep the roof line pixels up all year. I bought them from Ray Wu and they are rated IP68 as are in the silicone tubing. Just worried though about sun, rain, snow and temperatures as can get to -25 degrees C and +35 degrees C here. Can I just mount those strips straight up as is or do I need something like the aluminum channel to help protect?

Here is what I'm doing this year.
e3acf955efdddb7e53d18d6d33a01357.jpg
7fd3564a3d9a961eb71a980e4a6ea5d1.jpg
e6b3b635af2152ea749db1da08bfb31d.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I also would like to see your light channel. Real nice installation, as seen in your photos. How about from the back?

This was the prototype. Using j channel. 2 piece in opposite direction.
Silicone caulk on the bottom to hold them together. Don't seal the top and it slides between the vinyl soffit and the metal flashing.
In stead of the silicone I may mount the first piece and the use self tapping screw to secure in the piece with the pixels. This would make it easier to service should that need arise.
My goal was nothing permanent and no holes in the house. I plan to leave them up year round.
2a87f2d9c2aa510e1d97679f6d527645.jpg
2b8a28168cbf7f501c78a674347caf1e.jpg

8109e511a32f043e93bacbef652eac80.jpg

Last edited:
Very nice, I like the work you did for your lights uzelessknowledge.