Complete novice - Grinch controller??

mutleyrover

Hi everyone

I'm completely brand new to this whole world and I'm feeling a little out of my depth.... Help please!!
I'm in the UK thus whatever I do will obviously be on 240volts. Hardly anyone does this over here, no one near me at least, so I want to do something special and different with my lights.

After lots of reading I was heading towards building a Grinch controller, although I've just read a post that says the chips are hard to get, so I feel like I'm back to square one. I was originally thinking the Grinch was a good starting place for me to learn - it doesn't look too difficult to build (and building anything like this is a whole new experience to me). I'm keen to learn and I've got to start somewhere.

Now having read that parts are hard to get am I better off with a Renard? I liked the grinch because of the 64 channels it offered. Am I able to get all the parts to be able to make the Grinch controller. I've seen a few references to WJohn regarding the pcb.

Any advice and help will be greatly received. I'm sure I have many more questions, this is just the beginning, but I've got to learn somehow.

Thanks very much!

Me personally, I would go with the Renard. They are a bit more common. Plus, the Grinch doesn't dim. I had never soldered anything in my life, but was able to build two RenSS24's my first year with very little problem.

Hi everyone

I'm completely brand new to this whole world and I'm feeling a little out of my depth.... Help please!!
I'm in the UK thus whatever I do will obviously be on 240volts. Hardly anyone does this over here, no one near me at least, so I want to do something special and different with my lights.