Mega Tree Hints and examples

pete

Ok, After partaking in acouple decussions in chat on how to setup a mega tree. I thought I'd start a thread on it. I know this wont be the first nor the last on the subject. But what I'm hoping is to get a good selection of example ( Pictures of actual Mega trees) to showcase different designs. As well as example of different anchor methods for bith the top and bottom of the tree. I have included a drawing of the basics of a mega tree, I hope its helpful

Pete

Attachments

• Mega tree idea.jpg
    Mega tree idea.jpg
    114.3 KB · Views: 1,347
But what I'm hoping is to get a good selection of example ( Pictures of actual Mega trees) to showcase different designs. As well as example of different anchor methods for bith the top and bottom of the tree.

I put a few shots in this post:

this is my first year with a mega-tree (so I may be doing something stupid), but here are some pics of what I have so far

I'm not sure if those are the style you are looking for. If so, I can upload some more.

[EDIT] I finally wrote up what I did. It is at http://downloads.eshepherdsoflight.com/Howidid-MidiTree.pdf. There is a section showing topper, base, and setup/connecting the light strings.

don

Last edited:
I had a metal post with 8 sets of white lights and 4 sets of red and 4 sets of green. I had mega troubles with my gfci tripping...
It may be the wooden box I used for ssr.
anyway we had a bad windstorm dec 27th and the whole thing came down.
SO next year I have to do better at guy wiring it up.

Converting a Basketball Goal into a megatree

It probably shouldn't be called a megatree, because it's only 10 ft tall, but its the tallest tree in my yard, so it's mega for me. It could easily be adapted to taller designs.

My design goals were:
> Use things I already had and others were likely to have or could get easily and inexpensively
> Make it very strong to handle the winds and bad weather we have around here.