Running a Light-O-Rama CTB16PC Controller with Vixen

ttr502

I have been doing the light displays for 3 years now with the REN's, Grinch's, etc and a buddy of mine has got the "bug" now. He found a Light-O-Rama CTB16PC Controller at a flea market cheap that he wants to use to get started. He lives in a small conservative subdivision so he only wants to do fade between colors and other simple, slow lighting effects. He only got the controller in the enclosure and the guy gave his name and phone number promising the "cable and software" when he found them. And yes, surprisingly the guy had trouble finding them, and seems to be having phone trouble as well now??. I am sure there a way to do this as I found a few posts about it before the new forum software was put up, but now the search is not working so I can not find the posts again. I remember reading that I needed a special plug-in and a dongle. Where can I get more details and where can I get them? I have no problem with DIY hardware (in fact I find it more fun) if I can go that route.

Most of the LOR controllers can be run via DMX. LOR controllers will respond to DMX commands automatically, if it detects that DMX protocol is being used, rather than LOR protocol. It's all RS485 signalling. You just have to understand that LOR controllers use pins 4 and 5 of the RJ45 for data, and that it's exactly opposite in terms of polarity from a Renard controller. This means that Data+ and Data- are reversed from the Renard setup.

You will need a DMX dongle to do this.

You could also purchase a LOR dongle or other USB or RS232->RS485 "dumb" dongle and run Vixen. The LOR software isn't that expensive, or you could go the LSP route if you want to pay for some software.

ttr502,

In Google if you type "CTB16PC site:doityourselfchristmas.com" you can find threads. This method works for any search terms. It has saved me a lot of time.