W5200 four more sockets

What's a socket?

I'm just getting started with the Propeller stuff, and obviously, the Wiznet stuff is even more vaporish to me. I understand the basics of the Wiznet, that it's an ethernet chip/module with the proper stack to do so, just not following the socket stuff yet.

Sorry for the interruption of this thread and thanks for any help.

What's a socket?

Think of a socket as a network connection, sockets are used to send and receive data. They are configured with a port number (IE webserver is 80) and a protocol (TCP or UDP). On the 5100 there were 4 available, so if you wanted to receive 4 universes of sACN there were none left over for a webserver (you would need 5). With the 5200 you have 8 so you have "extras" for things like DHCP and what not.

That help a little?

I'm also interested in it... any chance of getting it from you?

I'm back to struggling with the speed. I'm tempted to post the slower functional version to google project site for people to use. Anyone interested in it?

Think of a socket as a network connection, sockets are used to send and receive data. They are configured with a port number (IE webserver is 80) and a protocol (TCP or UDP). On the 5100 there were 4 available, so if you wanted to receive 4 universes of sACN there were none left over for a webserver (you would need 5). With the 5200 you have 8 so you have "extras" for things like DHCP and what not.

That help a little?

Ports on a single IP address? (IE 192.168.0.1:80 for HTTP, 192.168.0.1:443 for HTTPS) or can the IP be different? I'm guessing the ports available are not "hard-wired" but available to be assigned. For instance, I could use port 777 if I wanted to for my web server if my code responded to that port.

I guess I should read the Data sheet but I'm already 200 pages behind reading the Propeller manual. I'll sit back and listen and read and hope this doesn't seem out of line in this thread.

Thanks for the info.